Centers of Excellence

The Hartford/GSA National Center on Gerontological Social Work Excellence serves as the coordinating center for five Hartford Centers of Excellence in Geriatric Social Work that carry on the work of the GSWI. These five centers are committed to exemplary leadership in training future generations of geriatric social work practitioners and faculty and provide leadership in translating new knowledge into policy and practice.

The five Centers are located at: 

Boston College

Hunter College

University of Michigan 

University of Southern California

University of Washington

The Centers of Excellence in Geriatric Social Work offer diverse approaches to integrate knowledge and practice for immediate impact on services for older adults and their families. Working in partnership with local community organizations, the Centers use new geriatric social work knowledge to develop policy initiatives and effective practice tools for agencies serving the aging population. Besides providing leadership for social work educators, the Hartford Centers of Excellence in Geriatric Social Work will build bridges to other health professions within their respective regions. In particular, the Centers of Excellence will exploit opportunities to collaborate with the existing Hartford Centers of Excellence in medicine and nursing.